Stonewall Book Award Winner!

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed UK poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he’s navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican—but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael’s coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs—and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are—and allow us to shine.
May 26, 2020  |  360 pages
(Read from Jun 29, 2020 to Jun 30, 2020)
Grade: B    (switch to numeric scale)
L/E Ratio: 70% Entertainment, 30% Literature
Tags:
Writing Quality:
Low High
Originality:
Low High

Addictiveness:
Low High
Movie Potential:
Low High

Re-readability:
Low High
Sequel Potential:
Low High
Comment:
A fine coming of age story, which reminded me much of the writing of Sapphire, whom the character references late in the novel. I enjoyed it for the story of black queerness. Need more books like this, these days, although I think the writing quality could be improved.  (+1 vote)