Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.

Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie's gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn't.

But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family ... and himself.

Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

This is the second volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.
August 8, 2019  |  293 pages
(Read from Aug 6, 2019 to Aug 6, 2019)
Grade: B    (switch to numeric scale)
L/E Ratio: 100% Entertainment, 0% Literature
Tags:
Writing Quality:
Low High
Originality:
Low High

Addictiveness:
Low High
Movie Potential:
Low High

Re-readability:
Low High
Sequel Potential:
Low High
Comment:
This volume continues the story of Nick and Charlie, and focuses mostly on Nick coming out. The narrative was a lot less cohesive than the first volume, and it felt like not very much happened plotwise. It is still a very cute story, with characters you want to root for, but not as compelling as volume 1.  (+1 vote)